NOTE: The Big Red Apple is now TheBigRedApple.net

To view this post at its new location click HERE!

It’s good to be back! The LSAT is behind me for another few months (I’ve decided to cancel this score and try again as I think I can be better prepared next time) and it is time to paint this town red! I started last night with a fantastic concert at Terminal 5; Santigold was phenomenal! I will tell you all about her stunning performance, as well as two other concerts I snuck in during my months in exile (The Wet Spots and Naomi Shelton, both at Joe’s Pub), as well as the fantastic films of the Media that Matters Film Festival, which you can watch online. Before I start gushing about the past, let me gush about the wonderful events happening today and tomorrow.

Tonight Brooklyn Based is presenting the premier of Food, Inc.; it’s currently sold out but there will be standing room seats available starting at 7:45.

More than just a screening, this event is the grand finale of the spring installment of our Drinks on the Doc series. We’ve asked Roebling Tea Room, Sweet Deliverance, McClure’s Pickles and Nunu Chocolatesto whip up some tasty bites for a pre-film reception, and Brooklyn Breweryis providing us with Cuvee de Cardoz and BrooklynSummer Ale, for a pre-film, seasonal beer open bar. After the movie, director Robert Kenner will participate in a Q&A, answering all your burning questions about food politics, ammonia-laced hamburgers and the challenges of documenting the work of huge corporations that don’t want to be documented.

Though this is the Brooklyn premier, Kate1 and F saw a press screening some time ago and tell me that…

It was interesting – you should check it out! The producer (and muckraking journalist/author of Supersize Me), Eric Schlosser, was on the Colbert Report a couple of days ago promoting the film. It’s made by Participant, the same production company that did An Inconvenient Truth.

With that recommendation coming from my favorite world-saving power couple I feel comfortable saying that standing room will be a hot commodity.

Tomorrow night at Don Pedro’s you can see some of the hottest DJs spinning leftfield disco in the big apple- Cowboy Mark, Fucci, Trus’me and Jacques Renault.

Also tomorrow Adult Swim presents the Summer at Santos Series; the fantastic line-up includes Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head, the name alone makes them worth investigating, but this video clinches it:

Head to Santos Party House to get in on the action!

I’ll be adding a very intense weekend post shortly as well as the promised details of my recent adventures so stay tuned!

