You are currently browsing the daily archive for February 25, 2009.

NOTE: The Big Red Apple is now TheBigRedApple.net

To view this post at its new location click HERE!

There are so many great shows on stage, or about to hit the stage, that I’m devoting a post to theater.

At the McCaddin Memorial Theater (Williamsburg’s Lost Theater) you can experience Puccini’s ‘Suor Angelica’, an Italian opera about a very unhappy nun. This is an interesting space in which to experience opera up close and personal and a unique activity for this weekend.

Christopher Durang’s new show ‘Why Torture is Wrong, and the People Who Love Them‘ will be hitting the stage at The Public Theater March 24th; buy tickets now before they’re all snapped up by Durang’s avid fan base.

I don’t usually go for mainstream (read overpriced) Broadway musicals but I do want to see Billy Elliot. My grandmother saw it and said it was fantastic, and this is a woman who saw the original South Pacific, so that must mean something. I think I first wanted to see it when I read an article in the NYTimes about the girls who play the other ballet students; it just brought out the ballerina in me (ages 6-10). I mean really, how cute are they?

Billy Elliot with Ballerinas

Billy Elliot with Ballerinas

Next Week at 59E59you can check out some new pieces that are part of the Wet Ink Festival. Included is a new adaptation of Beowulf (sounds questionable to me!).

You can also catch the final performances of Mabou Mines Dollhouse at St. Ann’s Warehouse. This adaptation of the Ibsen play has gotten fantastic reviews and is certainly worth investigating.

The production of Othello currently on at the Theater for a New Audience recently got a stellar review in the NYTimes, which could be why it is now sold out. However, if you know how to finagle your way in it’s likely to be amazing. Also if you know how to finagle your way in please share your secrets with yours truly!

Othello Poster

Othello Poster

My questionable theater buddy, A, recently saw ‘Enter Laughing’ at the York Theater. She tells me it’s not really questionable, just your classic musical comedy with an excellent cast.

If you do check out any of the above please pass on your thoughts! Also, stay tuned for more weekend events!

Past Shenanigans

February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728